-
Title
-
Bridget Bishop, Sarah Good, Rebecca Nurse, The Witch House
-
Commemorates
-
Victims of the Salem Witch Trials
-
Biographical Text
-
17th-century Post-Medieval style black house. Built in 1675.
The house is located in Salem, MA. It served as the home of Judge Jonathan Corwin during the 1692 Salem Witch Trials. It is the only standing structure left in Salem with direct ties to the trials. Though it never housed any accused witches, it now stands as a historic house museum in their honor, named The Witch House.
In March of 1924, a fire resulted in damage to the roof of the house as well as some relics inside. During the 1940s, the City of Salem planned to demolish the house in order to extend North Street. $42,000 was raised by a group of citizens to successfully prevent this from occurring. Instead, the home was moved thirty-five feet back from its original location.
The house officially opened as a museum in 1948.
-
Date Created
-
1675
-
Date Modified
-
1924-03-27
-
1940
-
Type
-
English
Building
-
English
Museum
-
Project Researcher
-
O'Neill, Iris